Posted by: Admin | July 7, 2010

WORDS OF WISDOM – Maya Angelou

Interviewed on the Oprah Winfrey show in April, author Maya Angelou declared that growing older was exciting.

For example, regarding body changes, she said there were many, occurring every day.  Her breasts, for example, seem to be in a race to see which will reach her waist first.

Here are some of Maya Angelou’s words of wisdom:

  • I’ve learned that no matter what happens, or how bad it seems today, life does go on, and it will be better tomorrow.
  • I’ve learned that you can tell a lot about a person by the way he/she handles these three things: a rainy day, lost luggage, and tangled Christmas tree lights.
  • I’ve learned that regardless of your relationship with your parents, you’ll miss them when they’re gone from your life.
  • I’ve learned that ‘making a living’ is not the same thing as ‘making a life’.
  • I’ve learned that life sometimes gives you a second chance.
  • I’ve learned that you shouldn’t go through life with a catcher’s mitt on both hands; you need to be able to throw some things back.
  • I’ve learned that whenever I decide something with an open heart, I usually make the right decision.
  • I’ve learned that even when I have pains, I don’t have to be one.
  • I’ve learned that every day you should reach out and touch someone. People love a warm hug, or just a friendly pat on the back.
  • I’ve learned that I still have a lot to learn.
  • I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.’

That last quote resonated with me – how true that is.

You can read an interview with Maya Angelou by Oprah Winfrey here.  Buy her work, such as “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings” from her official website , your local bookshop, or from Amazon

Do you have any favourite ‘words of wisdom’?  Post them in comments or email me: jo@project-50.net

Responses

  1. […] Angelou was one of my first “Words of Wisdom” subjects and still one of the most read posts. Author of “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings”, one […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

