Posted by: Admin | July 22, 2010

DON’T PUT ME IN A BOX!

What kind of music do you like? That was a classic chat up line in the seventies, and one I always used to dread. None of the boys I fancied were ever impressed when I said “David Cassidy“. My tastes have changed since then, (sorry, David) and I don’t really care any more what other people think of them. One of the advantages of having a musician for a son is that I get to listen to all kinds of music that I might not otherwise have heard. Some I like, some I love, some I listen to once and that’s enough.

New music isn't just for the young

I suspect that you’re the same. I always ask the people I interview: “what’s on your iPod?” The answers often surprise me – so far they’ve ranged from Classical, to Rock to Trance. Over 50s, it seems, are an eclectic bunch. So I was interested to read about the launch in September of a new TV channel dedicated to the over 50s. Vintage TV “will focus on culture and music from the post-war rock’n’roll years – from the Berlin airlift to the fall of Mrs Thatcher”. In other words, it will play endless “classics” from the fifties, sixties and seventies.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I still like a lot of the music that formed the soundtrack to my youth, but I find myself prickling at the idea that, because I’m older, I want the familiarity of the known above the thrill of the new. The idea for this new channel is admirable insofar as the programmers are acknowledging that the youth market is not the only demographic worth catering for, but please, don’t attempt to pickle my musical tastes by tethering me to “sounds of the seventies” – introduce us to something new amidst all the nostalgia!

Music is the theme for this weekend. Just for fun, (as always!) this week’s poll is based on the photograph, above. I’ll let you know the answer on Sunday!

Responses

  1. I pride myself that, other than a lull in the mid to late 90’s, I’ve always kept up with new music. My own taste ranges from Medaeival to drum n bass. My only criteria is that it’s GOOD. When in doubt, watch the footage of the summer music festivals to get a good overview.

  2. Good advice, WH! I would add that “good” = “if you like it”. I get fed up with music snobbery. My tastes aren’t particularly sophisticated, but I know what I like 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

