Posted by: Admin | August 17, 2010

INCEPTION

I took myself off to the cinema this weekend with son and husband. My intention was to watch the all-action Expendables with the express purpose of reporting back to you, dear reader, on the performance of the ageing action heroes contained therein. A last minute debate in the queue for tickets saw us chickening out and opting instead for Leonardo DiCaprio’s new offering, Inception.

What an awesome film!” was son no 2’s verdict.

This generation, I am sad to report, was less enthused. So convoluted was the plot, I was left confused and irritated. If I’m asked to suspend disbelief, I require a modicum of scientific possibility explained to me. It’s only fair. The writers of Inception clearly thought such courtesy entirely unnecessary.

Now, it might be that on second viewing I’d have a few aha! moments (there seems to be a trend for making films – and TV programmes – that are so complicated they are designed entice you back more than once , thus doubling the box office returns). Running through the plot in my mind afterwards, however, I am left with with a sneaking suspicion that there are no answers that I missed, that actually the plot is simply too clever for its own good – ie: there are bloody great big holes in it!

The concept is interesting, though, particularly in its exploration of the sub-conscious and the “architecture” of dreams.

The execution of the plot was aimed, I feel, at the generation of X-Box owners – the action sequences had the feel of a computer game – pow! run! dive! shoot! – even more so since the fact that we were watching dreams (and dreams within dreams) meant that dead characters kept popping back up and it was impossible for anyone to really be hurt, thus removing any moral dimension from the action.

Here’s the trailer. Go see and decide for yourself. My advice, however, is to wait for the DVD release.

Responses

  1. I thought it was quite god actually, although I had to suspend disbelief to a grand extent, visually it was breathtaking in places. Definitely better suited to a cinema screen than a tiny tv.

    • Have just got home from seeing Inception. It was much better than I was expecting and I managed to keep up with who was doing what to whom at what level of consciousness for about four fifths of the film. I really enjoyed it but am thoroughly exhausted! Thought some of sequences were stunning and the music was good too.

  2. I watched the trailer but it looks like, as we would have said in the ’60’s, a bad trip on some bad drugs.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

