Posted by: Admin | August 20, 2010

LIGHT & SHADE

I had news from a lovely lady of my age last night that her cancer has returned. Whilst it has been contained, she will probably have to endure another round of chemotherapy. Having been cancer-free for some years this has been a devastating blow. For my part, it put all my navel-gazing about wrinkles and achy joints into perspective.

On the other hand, the news also served to underline my primary purpose in this project –  to celebrate life and live every day to its fullest. As I send her my love and wishes for a quick recovery, I feel strongly that I owe it to her and all those I love who have battled with illness to live my own life fearlessly and without complaint.

Coincidentally, yesterday was also the day on which I handed in my notice to my safe, steady job. From 8th October I will, once more, be self-employed. As a free agent I can make things happen that can only remain dreams if I spend my days chained to a desk. Now I can face 50 in freedom. With all my heart, I hope my friend can do the same.

Heading along an unknown path

Responses

  1. Huge well done to you. I know you will do great things. x

  2. Two years ago i too gave up my steady but quite stressful job, we sold our family home (still full of adult children coming and going!!) and moved to a larger but cheaper house in another area and i can still remember that wonderful life changing feeling of utter liberation as I closed the door on that job and started the next bit of my life! I am absolutely sure you will not regret a moment of it.

    • Thank you both for taking the time to post such encouraging words! I have to say that as soon as the decision was made and out in the open I felt a huge weight lift off my shoulders. What are you doing now, Gillian?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

