Posted by: Admin | August 26, 2010

Old Dogs, New Tricks

© Jo Blackwell

I’m beginning to ponder how I could celebrate my 50th birthday next July. When I was seven, my parents presented me with a baby sister  on my birthday (I’d asked for a bike), so I don’t want one of those. I could make like Gloria Steinem and buy a golden gown and announce to the world “this is what 50 looks like”, but that would put me under pressure to diet and I just don’t care enough to give up cake.

I’ve never had a party since I was a kid, so that sounds appealing. Jelly and ice cream, live music and snogging in dark corners. But would anyone actually remember to come? Maybe I should plan an adventure, something to recharge my batteries.

Yep, that sounds great. Look at tycoon, Richard Branson. He decided to mark his 60th birthday by Kite-surfing across the English Channel. Yes, kite-surfing! According to the BBC website (where you can also watch an interview with Sir Richard), Kitesurfing “involves the rider being pulled through the waves on a surfboard, propelled by a large controllable kite.”

image taken from BBC News website

What? You have to be kidding. You can see from the photo just how physical kite-surfing is. Can you imagine keeping your feet across the choppy seas of the English Channel whilst controlling a kite? Is he mad? Or just a guy who’s determined to have a go at everything and everything while he’s still physically capable of doing so? He’s certainly one old dog who isn’t averse to learning new tricks!

In the event, Branson’s birthday celebration has had to be postponed due to bad weather, but I take my hat off to him – if that is what 60 looks like, then the next 10 years should be a blast!

Responses

  1. I like the photo of Camilla Parker-Bowles kite surfing. Who’d have thought it…

  2. I don’t even remember my big”50″. I did live in Mexico so I probably drank some pretty good beer.

  3. Can I do it? Can I?! Can I?!

  4. WH – miaow!

    oldfool – I live in English suburbia, so will probably drink some pretty good tea 😉

    Hubby – don’t be so bloody ridiculous (x)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

