Posted by: Admin | August 29, 2010

What are YOU doing about it?

Whenever I went to my dad with a gripe about how unfair things were, he would always reply: “What are YOU doing about it?” It didn’t matter what it was, how big or small the problem, that was his default answer and it drove me crazy.

Blea Tarn, Cumbria © Jo Blackwell

Of course, when I had children I developed a variant of my own: “It’s not what happens to you in life that counts: it’s how you deal with it.” As I’ve got older and witnessed how different people deal with different things my belief in that saying has solidified – attitude is everything.

It’s all to do with the laws of attraction, of course: put simply, what we give out is what we get back. In my current job as an employment advisor I can look at my next interviewee across the room and make a fair guess at whether he or she is divorced and bitter (more often male, I’m afraid) or depressed or optimistic. Nine times out of ten I’m right.

The sub-conscious mind doesn’t know the difference between reality and what we tell ourselves. So if it hears us saying “nothing good ever happens to me,” it hangs on to that belief so tightly that even when the good stuff comes along, there’s a part of us expecting it to end. Which it will, since nothing, good or bad, lasts forever, and that negativity is then reinforced.

We all get locked into negative spirals at some points in our lives, and breaking free seems far from easy. But when we consider that life happens in the present moment, we know that change is possible in a heartbeat.

I’ll return to this subject later in the year. For now, I’m posting a short video about someone who, despite facing unimaginable difficulty embodies the spirit of my old dad’s saying. Nick Vujicic is living proof that attitude can make a difference.

If you’re feeling despair right now about whatever issue, I send you my love. More importantly, I hope that after watching this, you will feel moved to take the time to think about what is distressing you and ask yourself: what am I doing about it?

Responses

  1. You are so right Jo. Watching Nick’s video made me cry and realise that only I can make a difference.

    I lost my eldest son, Leon, at the age of only 22 to cancer on 7th May, 2007. I then lost my Gran & Grandad last year. They brought me up from the age of 9 so are my parents. I’m still in my ‘black hole’ but crawl out every now and again.

    I took voluntary redundancy from BT last November after working for them for almost 21 years because I could no longer handle the pressure and hated my job. Thought I’d find a job that I really wanted to do and would enjoy but just finding a job is not easy.

    I need to think about what I want from life and where I want to go with it … whether it’s white water rafting, renting my home out for 6 months and travelling or being with my son.

    I CAN and WILL do this!

  2. Yes, Mandy, you can! Welcome to project50 – thank you for your comment. You’re one very brave lady and you deserve to be happy. Never give in! I hope you’ll come back keep us up with your progress.
    Good luck! x


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

