Posted by: Admin | September 10, 2010

The Ultimate in Couch Potato Chic

Since I’m on holiday, I’ve had the chance to take a leisurely look through the papers, even the plethora of supplements that normally go straight into the recycling bin. I picked up Telegraph Select: Lifestyle Solutions for readers of the Daily Telegraph, preparing to have a chuckle at the bamboo bead car seat covers, the mat that you can roll up to keep your jigsaw puzzle intact and other equally superfluous gadgets that I never knew I wanted.

Imagine my surprise, my horror, my dismay when I found I was still looking at it half an hour later! My eye had been taken by the Snuggle-soft fleece blanket with large, loose sleeves and foot pockets described thus:

The snuggle blanket is a gigantic fleece blanket with large, loose sleeves and foot-cosy pockets, Designed to keep your entire body wrapped-up and cosy, hands remain free to talk on the phone, eat, click TV remotes, read a book, type on a laptop or even knit (!) Feet cosy in 30cm deep foot-pockets ensuring the blanket moves as you do, keeping the furthest extremities from chilly draughts. For use indoors or out, this new delight replaces any throw or multi-purpose blanket. Made of soft, 210g/m2, non-pilling, 100% polyester fleece. It’s machine washable and measures W140 x L190cm.

I love the pseudo-technical information at the end! Plus the proud boast that it’s made of 100% polyester 🙂 The accompanying photograph shows an attractive young woman on a sofa in a modern – ie: presumably centrally-heated home – lounging on a sofa. This model doesn’t appear to have the handy pouches to hold the TV remote and a snack as other I have seen, but it does incorporate the innovative foot pockets, that allow you to shuffle from couch to fridge and back again, so you could always time your snack run with the need to switch channels.

I wonder why the model appears to be so slender? After all, she obviously doesn’t need to move around sufficiently to generate her own body heat, not now she’s the proud owner of a snuggle-soft fleece blanket. Winter is almost upon us – pass me my cheque-book!

You too can can buy online here. Search for “snuggle blanket”. And, oh my goodness! there’s currently a buy one get one free offer!

Responses

  1. Victoria Wood says that the point in your life when you start to find the items in these catalogues desirable is the point at which you should finally give up and surrender to middle age.

    I have purchased a screw-in-to-the-ground holder thing for my rotary washing line. It hasn’t come yet.

  2. Yes, this makes me laugh! Reminds me of Billy Connolly and the big slipper sketch.

  3. I actually know someone who has one of these!!!!!!! Apparently they are very good. Now I know what to get you for Christmas! x Glad to hear your using your time on holidays wisely x

  4. I was reading one of these magazines on an internal flight in the US and was sorely tempted (not!) by an underwater pogo-stick …


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

