Posted by: Admin | September 18, 2010

Goodbye to the bus!

For various reasons I have been travelling by public transport this past 18 months. Maggie Thatcher famously said “a man who, beyond the age of 26, finds himself on a bus can count himself as a failure”. My father’s pride never allowed him to set foot in one: he would walk miles rather than be seen waiting at a bus stop.

Actually, I wasn’t so fussed.  I missed my car mainly for the freedom it represented but my new job was accessible by bus and I was too busy to do anything much outside work. It was trickier once I started my business, though: appropriating my husband’s car more and more regular intervals hasn’t been ideal for either of us. Nor has standing at the bus stop through the freezing winter, or sweltering through the summer because the bus company never turned the heating off in the buses.

So today is a Red Letter day for I have at last been able to buy another car. I am ecstatic, and yet, and yet… I shall miss the collegiate atmosphere of the bus in the mornings as the same familiar faces yawn and nod sleepy acknowledgements. I shall miss the drivers I have come to know, especially Mick who always dropped me between two bus stops, at the end of my road because he said I looked tired at the end of the day. I shall miss the glorious countryside views that I could stare at instead of having to concentrate on the road ahead. And the feeling that I’m doing my bit for the environment by using public transport.

But I shall embrace my reclaimed freedom and I’ll never take having a car for granted again.

Responses

  1. I’m so happy for you. Life in the country is so restricting without a car. Well done that girl xx

  2. I love looking at the country side and all the things that are around us, maybe that is what has stopped me from driving all these years.

  3. Thank you, WH – it’s not the car itself, but what it represents that is so powerful.

    Welcome to Project50, Maxine! That’s the part I have enjoyed the most. Now I’ll go dashing off by car to find other bits of countryside to walk in etc – crazy when you think about it! THanks for commenting, and I’ll look forward to seeing you here again ;0)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

