Posted by: Admin | September 22, 2010

“Wanted: Young, Cool & Talented Photographer…”

That was the ad I read this morning. Wow, thought I – one out of three ain’t bad 😉 where do I sign up?

Turns out that this is an ad to join two brothers: Walter and Patrick Hessert on their year-long road trip around America in their airstream bus. The “Million Dollar Road Trip”(MDRT) is a for-profit venture, funded by selling advertising space on the side of the bus, which aims to “inspire young people to dare to dream and do, to think and act boldly. Now.”

Hmm. 12 months in a bus with a couple of guys selling advertising space and awarding “inspiration grants” to young people (under 35) who are following in the great American spirit of entrepreneurialism probably isn’t for me, no matter how young, cool and talented I might be.

It’s made me think, though: how about a British equivalent?

Wanted: middle-aged, cranky and creaky-jointed photographers for caravan trip around the British Isles. Grants awarded for anyone over 50 who can moan endlessly about the weather whilst simultaneously blaming the government. Must like tea.

Would it take a year? Could we, like the MDRT, plan our route according to the “festivals and marquee events” planned throughout the year? I think we could, y’know. Seriously – how great would it be to travel around documenting British life through the public events that bring us all together? From the Edinburgh Tattoo to Glastonbury, from the WI tent at local county shows to countless village fetes…I feel a project coming on.

Anyone like to join me? Or sponsor my bus?

Responses

  1. Can I bring wine? Can I wear a kilt? Will there be frequent pee stops? Do I have to get up early? Will moderate grumpy be tolerated? How many people in how small a space? I’m probably not a candidate anyway as it would take a long time to get there since I no longer fly but it sounds like great fun.

  2. Yes, no, oh yes, absolutely not, of course, probably too many. You could bring one of your bikes, though…
    slow boat?

  3. Where do I apply??? I can make great tea as well, and the odd cake xxxxxxxxxx

  4. not so sure about odd cakes, we’d all moan :-p


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

