Posted by: Admin | September 28, 2010

There’s always someone worse off than you…

7 days left at work before I leap into a return to full-time self-employment. Hence I’m still juggling, so apologise for the short posts – bear with me and I promise there’ll be more meat on the project50 bones in the very near future!

Anyway, today got off to a damp start. It had been pouring with rain all night so I switched on the windscreen wipers as soon as I fired up the engine and wound down the windows to clear the rain away. BIG mistake as what felt like a bucketful of cold water landed in my lap. I don’t know if it’s a design fault on the Mini, but the water lying on the roof had nowhere to drain and simply splatted against the window – which was open.

It’s surprising how quickly my joy at driving again was dampened. I felt quite disgruntled with life as I drove off – until I approached the main street of the small market town where I work. For there, on either side of the road, dotted at regular intervals stood half a dozen “human billboards”. Hoods up against the driving rain, they stood dressed in giant pizza boxes, advertising the opening of the latest fast food outlet and handing out soggy discount leaflets.

As a tableau of utter misery the sight was hard to beat. Jobs are hard to come by, so I daresay these human billboards were glad of a day’s work, but how dispiriting, how utterly depressing to find oneself committed to a rainy-day-long gig at the roadside. It made my dousing seem like a mere sprinkling in comparison.  I would have stopped the car and photographed this extraordinary scene, but I didn’t have the heart. Or the stomach for a pizza.

Responses

  1. One of my friends holds a sign in the town centre. He has to do it all day, every day come rain or shine, even in all the snow last winter he was doing it then. Its the only regular work he can find at the minute, even if the pay is totally lousy! Really does put a hard days work in perspective. Maybe I won’t complain about my boss so much. 😉

  2. The extraordinary things is that they manage to smile at everyone. Good for them.

  3. Thanks for the comment, Jenny. Good on your friend. The really galling thing is those that heap ridicule on them as they pass on the way to the jobcentre.

    I agree with you WH. But I still think it’s a ridiculous thing to make people do.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

