Posted by: Admin | October 13, 2010

Party on, dudes!

Preparations are afoot for my 50th birthday celebrations in July 2011. I’ve never had a birthday party, not as an adult anyhow. To be honest, the thought both thrills and horrifies me by turns. What if no one comes? Why wouldn’t they? I don’t know! I can’t legislate for my neuroses. It feels a bit show-offy, making myself the centre of attention, but on the other hand, for once in my life I want to mark a personal milestone with a public statement.

My daughters have kindly taken on the organisation, which is why it’s being discussed so early – who knows where in the world daughter no.2 will be in a month’s time? We’re thinking village hall, band, fish and chip supper and a rockabilly theme. That might change yet, of course. I might yet get cold feet and decide to spend the big day with the duvet over my head.

If you’ve reached the 50 milestone already, how did you celebrate?


Responses

  1. I only know that I was for certain drunk. I had been mostly drunk for about 10 years or so. If I hadn’t been drunk I would have most certainly been under the bed probably with a flash light to keep the boogie woman away. If I had known the future I would have probably taken my favorite anchor and jumped into the Sea of Cortez but I had at that time lost my ability to see the future so here I am.
    Have a party. At fifty and with your mind you are invincible. When you take over the world and appoint me to your cabinet I will not serve.

  2. On rollerskates dressed as Barbie, with all my friends dressed in similar ridiculous outfits – just spent the whole night laughing! Made me feel about 21 – forget the duvet over your head – 50 is the best birthday yet – trust me!! (now 51 is a different matter….not looking forward to that at all!).

  3. You deserve a party, and what a party it will be !!!! xx

  4. OF, my mind is a very fragile thing. I lose it more often than is healthy. (I’m glad you didn’t put down the anchor)

    Annabel, you always embrace life so readily. I am so glad I have met you.

    Mummystime – thanks. I need to learn to jive 😉

  5. Think you might already know this one – by coming home to a house empty of everything that had been there when I left it that morning, and I mean everything!

  6. Rich, that sucks. No one deserves that, but particularly not a decent guy like you. So glad it’s not made you mean and bitter – and your new lady looks lovely, btw. xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

