Posted by: Admin | October 20, 2010

Jo Blogs

 

 

public art in the country park

 

Here it is, midday, and I just remembered that I had an early night and didn’t post. Doh! Sorry. Thing is, I’m all out of sorts with my new routine and am only just starting to create some order around myself. Self-employment, especially self-employment conducted from home, takes not a little self-discipline, so routines (such as getting out of bed, getting dressed etc) are vital.

Part of mine is to take a half hour walk in the fresh air after breakfast. It gets the blood pumping, the brain working and stops me from growing into my chair. I’m lucky in that within a two minute stroll from my front door is a country park set around a reservoir in one direction and a path through farmland in the other, so I’m never bored with my route. Walking clears my head and sets me up for the day. I take my phone and record random thoughts that pop into my head. I’d like to report that these involve profound meditations and ideas for potentially the next Booker prize-winning novel, but they are more likely to run along the lines of “must remember to phone the bank” and “we’re out of milk.” At least it clears my mind of the minutiae and leaves it free for inspiration if inspiration cares to visit me.

Today at 08.30 it was cold, crisp and autumnal. There’d been a light frost and the sky was a clear and cloudless blue. I passed one fellow walker, a cyclist and two joggers, all of whom smiled and said “good morning”.  You need that kind of interaction when your work has you sitting alone all day. It replaces the gossip at the water fountain. It was a good start to the day – I hope you had a good one too.

 

Responses

  1. Are we out of milk?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

