Posted by: Admin | October 22, 2010

Learning from the Masters (and Mistresses!)

They say that the past informs the future and that is as true for photography as anything else. I am a digital photographer through and through. Purists would say that means I’m not a “real” photographer, and I would say: bollocks. For me, photography is about creating interesting images, the means by which it is done are irrelevant.

I do, however, love to study the great photographers of the 20th century and I have started to try to recreate some of their iconic images as a means by which to “see” things through their eyes.  I say “recreate”, what I really mean is “reinterpret” for I don’t think for a moment that I could emulate the greats. It’s fun trying though!

Below is one of the images of Marilyn Monroe created by Cecil Beaton in 1956 (source: National Portrait Gallery)

 

© Cecil Beaton Archive, Sotheby's

This is one of a series of photographs taken by Beaton in a hotel bedroom. I didn’t want to copy the shot, but to capture the softness, sensuality and playfulness that comes across. I used similar props and processed my shots in black and white to echo the original, but it was this very modern cross-processed colour way that, for me, was the best reinterpretation:

My Modern Marilyn

I love the way the cold tone of these bleached colours and the graininess of the shot, combined with her expression, gives my model a dreamy, other-worldly, look. So, that’s how I’ve been (mis)spending my time this week. How about you? 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

