Posted by: Admin | October 25, 2010

The Beauty Myth

No matter how much, intellectually, I might abhor it, I know that I am affected by how the media portrays women and their looks. Look at yesterday’s post! I tell myself that I want to lose weight for health reasons, to relieve the strain on my joints and to give myself more energy and stamina. That’s true, but it’s also true that I don’t like the way my body represents me, as an older woman, and that I feel I won’t be taken seriously as a professional unless I look the part – ie: young(er) and slim(mer). I now work in an image-conscious, very visual field, so it is inevitable I feel that way, I guess.

The Campaign for Real Beauty, a vehicle for promoting Dove products, for sure, but also much, much more, found in a recent survey that 91% of the women surveyed “believe the media and advertising need to do a better job of representing realistic images of women over 50“, and 97% “believe society is less accepting of appearance considerations for women over 50 than their younger counterparts, with showcasing one’s body the least acceptable.” I’m sure this is a subject we will revisit here at project50.

This ad campaign shows what goes into making a billboard image. I think it should be compulsory viewing for every young person, then maybe they wouldn’t be constantly measuring themselves and their looks by a totally unrealistic media yardstick. It has relevance for the more mature too. Next time you see an actress/public figure (because it’s unlikely to be a model over 50!) your age and start comparing yourself unfavourably to her, remember this film and know she really doesn’t look like that in real life – she probably looks very similar to you!

Here’s your chance to have YOUR say on this sensitive subject:

Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

