Posted by: Admin | November 20, 2010

The Saturday Interview 12 – Elaine

51 year old Elaine barely has time to think about what it means to be over 50 – she’s too busy caring for her 5 year old daughter and working to dwell on growing older! “I don’t feel over 50,” Elaine told me recently, “mainly

Elaine with daughter, Ayesha

because my husband doesn’t see me that way.”

Elaine met her husband, Momodou, whilst on holiday in the Gambia. Originally from Sierra Leone, he fled the civil war there and settled in Gambia where he helped Elaine with a land purchase she was making. After her first marriage disintegrated, and Momodou came to Britain to join the Liverpool and Merseyside Dance Troupe, friendship grew into something more. They married in 2001 and Ayesha was born in 2005, when Elaine was 46.

“My two daughters from my first marriage, Natalie and Chelsea, are both away at University. They adore Ayesha and I think they like the fact that their mum doesn’t think about age.”

Momodou and Elaine

Momodou is younger than Elaine and she feels that age is a matter of perception. “I scuba dive, run and play squash, so I feel good. You can’t get away from looks, though,” she says ruefully.

It’s clear from the photographs Elaine sent me that she is blessed on that score, but she clearly works hard to maintain her youthful figure. Running around after her beautiful toddler must also help and contentment must have some part to play in keeping her young in outlook.

In Paris for her 51st birthday

“I feel as if life is just hotting up for me now that I’m 50. We have a great life and enjoy travelling. This picture was taken up the Eiffel Tower. We went to Paris for my 51st birthday!”

Not so long ago, reaching 50 meant slippers and hairnets – I think the best thing about our times is that we have the capacity to reinvent ourselves. A new husband and the bonus of a child has given Elaine a whole new take on life that will see her sail through this decade.

She maintains that her positive outlook on ageing is a result of the happy place in which she finds herself. “Maybe I wouldn’t be so positive if I hadn’t found love again,” she speculates.

Obviously, it helps, but from our conversation I suspect that Elaine has the kind of personality that looks for the positive in most situations and that, dare I suggest, is the key to leaping into our fifties with aplomb! Thanks for sharing your story with us Elaine and I wish you and your family all the very best.

Would you like to celebrate your fifties by being the subject of a project50 interview? Email me: jo@project-50.net and you could see yourself featured here!


 

Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

