Posted by: Admin | December 6, 2010

In Praise of Anonymity

Earlier this evening, I checked in to an anonymous motel at a motorway service station. Calm down at the back there – this is not that kind of a story! I’m on a course for the next couple of days and, to be honest, I wasn’t looking forward to the long drive down here on a Sunday evening. But you know what? As soon as I walked in, I could feel myself relax.

Most people abhor cheap chain motels. They are anonymous, homogenous, lacking in character. Yep. And that is why I love ’em!

I booked with confidence, knowing exactly what I was getting: comfortable bed, desk and chair, sofa, coffee table, TV, the kind of art on the walls your eyes skim over (ok, that last bit’s not so good). There’s everything I need in the bathroom, somewhere to hang my coat, spare blankets, a hairdryer and a kettle. It’s clean (and if it wasn’t, I’m confident it would be put right without a fuss). I’ve checked out my escape route in case of fire (what? don’t you do that?), locked the door and put the chain on, kicked off my shoes and…aaaah. I am completely alone.

I have a confession to make: I like being alone. Not all the time, but regularly – once a day. Sometimes I like to be alone for a day or so. I like my own company and, in my opinion, solitude is seriously underrated. Here, in this anonymous hotel room, there is space for me to be.

I’ve taken advantage of the free WiFi to prepare for tomorrow and write the blog. I’ve eaten the picnic tea I brought with me and made a cuppa with real milk – also brought from home. The Sunday papers await after a hot bath, as does the Free View TV. I will miss snuggling up with husband of my heart, but it’ll come as no surprise for him to hear that I will enjoy sleeping in the middle of the bed!

I can hear the traffic on the M5 outside, but in this little bubble I feel gloriously, blissfully peaceful. Night night! 😉

Responses

  1. OMG ,Sounds like heaven.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

