Posted by: Admin | December 16, 2010

I’m a little bit Country

Whenever I’m feeling vulnerable I reach for country music. It’s like bubble gum for the mind – aural comfort.

My dad was a Johnny Cash fan; my musician son cut his teeth on the guitar with Cash – the best always endure. So, of course, do the not so good – that’s my bubble gum! I make no apology for my love of unsophisticated tunes. It’s akin to appreciating steak, but fancying a burger every now and then.

Maybe it was the story-telling element that appealed to me as a kid, maybe it was the simple beats and uncomplicated melodies. I do remember being delighted by such lyrics as “if I said you had a beautiful body would you hold it against me?” and ” There’s been a load of compromisin’ on the road to my horizon…” that I thought were really clever. I was always a bit of a wordsmith.

In Country-world, the guys had a better time of it than the gals. They were expected to Stand by their Man even though: “you’ll have bad times while he has glad times, doin’ things that you don’t understand…” and you’ll have to beg unscrupulous harlots like Jolene not to “take” your man just because she can. And what about that poor girl who’s been told it’s over 10 times, despite the fact that Faron Young “saw more love in her eyes when I left her than most foolish men will ever see”? Dawn “woke up the wanting” in him – ahem – and now for the tenth time he’s changing his mind. Even as a youngster I remember thinking: I hope she tells him where to get off.

There aren’t many equal opportunities country songs that I know of. Maybe this one by Wynonna Judd. I’ve been singing along to this one today – you might have seen me batting down the M6.

Responses

  1. my favorite country and western line (if its true) is ‘if you were a nose I’d still pick you’


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

