Posted by: Admin | January 21, 2011

The BIG Questions – what are you good at?

Did that question make you squirm! I bet when I asked “What are your weaknesses?” you found that list easier to write. We’re not very good at admitting good stuff about ourselves, not here in the UK, anyhow. Most of us have been brought up not to boast, to keep a low profile, as if by showing our strengths we might somehow diminish others. (Click through to a previous post to see what Nelson Mandela has to say about THAT concept here.)

Actually, the question should read: What are your strengths? Here are some of mine:

CREATIVE THINKING : The way my mind works can be an advantage, allowing me to see the bigger picture.

EMPATHY : the ability to empathise is both a blessing and a curse. It means I don’t see things in black and white. And even when people hurt me, I find it hard to stop making excuses for them. No, wait – that’s not such a good thing, is it?

DETERMINATION : once I set my mind to something, I rarely give up.

CHEERFULNESS : my nan used to say, in her best glum voice, it’s being so cheerful what keeps me young. If I’m down, I don’t like inflicting my misery on others. “Putting a face on” is an asset, since we often become what we pretend to be.

I’m going to stop there. I hope your list is longer! By now, you should have a clearer picture of what is important to you, right now, at this stage in your life. Often, it isn’t until we hit some kind of crisis that we take the trouble to stop and take stock, conduct a life audit, if you will.

From your answers to the last four day’s questions, you might now be able to write another list – WHAT ARE YOUR KEY NEEDS? Remember, I’m no psychoanalyst – this is just a process that I took myself through when I got to the point in my life when I’d had enough of the way things were. I looked at the job I was in and analysed what I liked and what I didn’t like and, eventually, I came up with 5 “needs” for myself :

  1. Connection to other people
  2. Intellectual challenge
  3. Autonomy
  4. Satisfaction from making a difference in some way
  5. Ongoing financial security

On Monday, I’ll share with you how I applied those needs to the options in front of me. For now, I’ll give you the weekend to chew over the “BIG Questions” and give you a couple of lighter posts!

Responses

  1. As above!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

