Posted by: Admin | February 26, 2011

The Saturday Interview 14 – Julie

Julie contacted me about the This is 50! project, so we have a chance to chat as I photograph her. From our emails and the comments she has left on the blog, I know she is viewing her impending 50th birthday withsome trepidation, so I ask her to elaborate.

“50 is a big thing: empty nest; creaking; health issues… I know I’m at a turning point in my life.”

Julie doesn’t have plans to celebrate her birthday, except for “having my back passage done up.” Excuse me?! “the utility room needs decorating,” she explains with a naughty twinkle in her eye. “It’s just another day – we don’t really celebrate birthdays in this family.”

I sense a note of regret and, after a little gentle probing, she admits that she is feeling a tiny bit cheated. “I’d like to travel , maybe go to Barcelona…” But? Apart from the cost, Julie’s husband of 30 years doesn’t fly. I point out that you can travel to Europe by train, but in the meantime, Julie has a plan. “My son and my brother are coming indoor skydiving with me in Milton Keynes.” Julie has a way of finding a way to do the things she wants to do, albeit sometimes in an abbreviated form! She’s also considering treating herself to a falconry day and has no qualms about doing things alone. “I go to the theatre by myself, and in many ways I’ve become more confident as I’ve got older – more opinionated too!”

Later, Julie emails me:

“Y’know, I think it is more of an acceptance thing for me – realising that I can do more of what I want without feeling guilty and an ability to make my own choices.  I now have the freedom to set my own goals rather than other people setting them for me which is very empowering but at the same time quite alien.  Having been conditioned to constantly putting other people first for more than 20 years its like breaking the habit of a lifetime although you never stop caring… So – maybe I am saying that for my 50th it isn’t so much a ‘doing something’ than a ‘being something’.”

Well said, Julie – happy birthday for May!

Do YOU have something to say about turning 50 that you’d like to share in an interview for project50? Get in touch here, or by email: jo@project-50.net

Responses

  1. You Go Girl! Love your comments – I know you’ll always be having fun, no matter how old you are! (and I’m only a couple of years behind you!) Love your pictures too. Have a fab 50th!!

    • Karen – thanks for your kind comments. Jo is certainly a magician with a camera. And yes, life has to be fun doesn’t it. I am considering being 49 next year, 48 the year after etc. etc… a much better take on life I think.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

