Posted by: Admin | March 7, 2011

Jo Blogs (again)

Well, folks, it’s now just four months to my birthday and since daughter number 2 came home there’s been a lot of whispering going on. Laptop lids are quietly closed when I walk into the room and doors are closed when phone calls are made. Hopefully, that means that plans for my party are well underway! 🙂

Regular visitors to project50 will know that having a birthday party is a BIG THING for me. It will be the first of my adult life and the idea of being the centre of attention would normally fill me with dread. Part of my masterplan to embrace 50 involves stepping into the sunshine, however, and right from the start I was determined to have a party. (Hark at me – even now I’m trying to justify myself!)

Anyways, I got a bit of a shock the other day. My daughter persuaded me to try on some party dresses, an alien thing for me at the best of times since I’m a jeans and jumper kinda gal. What shocked me was my own reflection. I’ve been so busy these past few months I’ve kind of lost touch with my own body, so it gave me a shock to realise how er… stout I have become. (I also didn’t realise I was so short – maybe it was a fairground mirror in the changing room?)

I’ve blogged before about weight and fitness, so I won’t bore on. I just want you to witness the promise I am making to myself. Before I make it, though, I want to share a memory with you. For my husband’s 40th birthday, I booked a long weekend away in the Lake District. At that time, our four children were aged between 6 and 15 and life was full and hectic. I didn’t have a great deal of time or money to spend on myself and exercise was pretty low on my daily agenda: certainly nowhere near as high as eating cake.

Blae Tarn, Cumbria, UK

Well, with the children divided between my two sisters, we went away for some rare time alone together. Good food, wine and long walks in the countryside were on the agenda. Behind the hotel was a sizeable, wooded hill which we broached gung-ho soon after arriving. So out of shape was I that I was soon puffing and blowing and eventually I stopped. “You go on,” I told Husband of my heart, “I’ll wait here and enjoy the view and you can collect me on the way down.” You know that tactful way our loving menfolk have of telling us when we’re wrong? His response was something along the lines of: “Get any fatter and we’ll have to take a coach trip, then you can stay on the coach while the fit people go walking.”

I got fit then and I’ll do it again. I will not face fifty out of breath, out of shape and out of options. This is my promise to myself, witnessed by all of you: I will lose this excess weight and increase my fitness by my birthday. I’ll even feel good in a dress. That will be my birthday present to myself. I’m worth more than a life lived in elasticated waistbands. And I don’t ever want to be left on the coach.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

