Posted by: Admin | March 27, 2011

THINGS TO DO WHEN YOU TURN 50

We’ve talked a bit about wrinkles, weight gain, grey hair and the general physical degradations that come with age, usually from a female viewpoint. But what about the guys who would LOVE to turn grey, if only they could hang on to their hair?

Husband of my Heart - sporting his very own solar panel

None of the men who matter most to me are particularly follicly blessed. Son No 2 is dismayed to find his hairline retreating quietly beneath his floppy fringe at the age of 19. His father has rocked a sun roof since his mid thirties and his older brother looks set to follow suit. The latter had the softest, blondest hair as a nipper, much like his own youngest son.

At least they don’t try to hide it with comb-overs and ridiculous headwear. Except in the sun – the skin on top of the head is so thin it remains permanently pink in the summer if not properly protected. My advice to anyone worried about hair loss is to embrace it. Please don’t cultivate a stringy ponytail or spend hours in front of the mirror trying to “style” what’s left. Buy some clippers and cut it short. Life is too short to fret about hair.

If you’re worried about what women think, I can only speak for myself and I can honestly say it doesn’t bother me in the slightest. I did wonder how I’d feel when it became clear that my husband was going to lose his blond locks, but it doesn’t happen overnight and the gradual change made the transition painless.

I asked daughter no.2 what she thought and she made an interesting point. “I notice but it only bothers me if it bothers him.” So there you have it – it’s self consciousness that bothers us, not a bald patch.

You could, of course, turn it into a feature like the chap below…

 

Strictly for the guys... the BEST tattoo I've seen in a while!

 

Responses

  1. Personally, I far prefer bald or receding to a great thick mop of hair. I think a bald head is very sexy, particulary if they wear specs as well.
    AND (you can edit this if you like) in my experience, men who recede at a young age usually have bigger willies.

  2. I couldn’t possibly comment on that one, WH!

  3. My other half has lots of hair – what does that mean WH, in respect of your theory re balding and other physical attributes? The problem with lots of hair is when he only gets it cut when we go on hols – he really doesn’t like the endearment of Worzel Gummidge…

    • My in depth research has been predominantly in the field of baldies, Julie, although I suppose I could take on a new project!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

