Posted by: Admin | April 7, 2011

Dorothy Parker Saved My Life…

I was a gloomy bugger as a teen. Whilst there were various deep and meaningful reasons for my melancholy, I didn’t half make a meal of it. My first bout of depression enveloped me like a big, smoggy black blanket when I was 16. It was scary, isolating, terrifying, living inside my head. Being a bit of a drama queen, I thought – and read – a lot about suicide. Whilst most people would look for things to cheer themselves up, I hunted down any author who spoke of a similar experience and wallowed in it.

Bogged down by Jean-Paul Sartre, Andre Gidet, Albert Camus and their ilk, I pounced on Dorothy Parker with relief. Witty, cutting, female – her take on depression was like a fresh breeze, capable of lifting the smog at least for a little while. She also had no shame in rhyming, an attribute that  I found strangely soothing, and had no compunction about poking fun at herself. Here are three of my favourites from way back when:

Comment

Oh, life is a glorious cycle of song,
A medley of extemporanea;
And love is a thing that can never go wrong;
And I am Marie of Roumania.

Quite. “Coda” was a poem to which I returned regularly. It has just the right amount of “woe is me” tempered with a flippant humour that poked gentle fun at the author and reader:

Coda

There’s little in taking or giving,
There’s little in water or wine;
This living, this living, this living
Was never a project of mine.
Oh, hard is the struggle, and sparse is
The gain of the one at the top,
For art is a form of catharsis,
And love is a permanent flop,
And work is the province of cattle,
And rest’s for a clam in a shell,
So I’m thinking of throwing the battle-
Would you kindly direct me to hell?

Finally, here’s the piece for which Ms Parker is probably best known. I loved it’s wry, weary humour. It was my “go-to” poem for when life felt really, really hopeless. At the risk of sounding as though I’m still a melodramatic 16 year old depressive, I would say that this poem was a life-saver:

Resumé

Razors pain you;
Rivers are damp;
Acids stain you;
And drugs cause cramp.
Guns aren’t lawful;
Nooses give;
Gas smells awful;
You might as well live.

Dorothy Parker


 


Responses

  1. I used to love Dorothy Parker when I was a teenager (14? 15?). I think it started when I went into a branch of W.H. Smith in Blackpool, looking for a biography of John Keats (the poet) and came across a biography of D.P. called “You might as well live” written by another John Keats. I was fascinated, though I don’t know what I’d think of her poetry if I went back and read it now.

    (I’ve just taken YMAWL off the shelf and had a look at it. On the back it has quotes from – of all people – Arthur Marshall (the camp old schoolmaster who used to appear on Call My Bluff) and Michael Foot – “The glimpses of reality behind the soft, sardonic poems and short stories are almost unbearable”. Not the sort of thing politicians say these days.)

  2. I believe I have that book somewhere! Were you a melodramatic teenage girl too, Backwatersman? DP was my first inkling that the pen can be mightier than the sword. I set out to be a writer because of her. Thank you for sharing 😉

  3. Not a girl, no. Not sure I was even particularly melodramatic.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

