Posted by: Admin | April 11, 2011

She’s leaving home…

After  a 9 week sojourn at home, daughter no 2 is Cornwall-bound once more. She hasn’t had the results of her tests yet, and probably won’t know anything conclusive for a while, but after a few weeks of rest and tlc she’s feeling well enough to start working again.

I’m so glad she’s ready to return to her life. I’m so sad that, once more, she will be so far away.

I suppose it’s inevitable that, with four children, sometimes one or more will fly briefly back to the nest, (usually en route to somewhere more exciting) but it isn’t half unsettling for me! It’ll take me a few hours to reconfigure the house to how it was before she came back, but it’ll take me a while longer to re-adjust to her not being here. I got used to her face being around, and I rather liked it. Apart from when it was grumpy, which was fairly often, it has to be said. I won’t miss the whiff that she brought into the house after she’d been outside for a fag, or finding she’s logged me out of Facebook when my back is turned. I will miss my walking buddy, her kindness and the energy she brought into the house when she was feeling cheerful – which was also fairly often.

Time for me to set aside my selfish thoughts and wave her off once more. She has a restless spirit that compels her to keep moving on, at least for now, and I would never seek to fence her in. It would be like trying to cage a wild bird.

Take care, my darling girl, and keep this Irish blessing close in your heart:

May the road rise up to meet you, may the wind be ever at your back.

May the sun shine warm upon your face and the rain fall softly on your fields.

And until we meet again,

May God hold you in the hollow of his hand

 

Responses

  1. Love you ❤

    You'll just have to visit me in sunny cornwall. Shucks! 😀 Thanks for everything for the past couple of months… now lets go get me a hat so i don't get burnt so easily 😀 xxx

  2. Just in case you’re wondering… she didn’t log me out of the blog before she commented, so it looks like I am now talking to myself… who said that?
    (plus she wants another hat. Sigh. Will it never end? 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

