Posted by: Admin | April 13, 2011

Bloody, bloody, bloody HELL!

So here I am, trying to redesign my new website. “It’s easy,” says my newfound design guru, “you just drag n drop.” I want to say that droppin’s a drag, I just want to take photos (or curl up on the sofa and watch CSI – save me, Grissom!) but she’s trying to save me money and this is what she calls me being creative, so I feel I should be able to do it, (sorry, Melissa).

There are video tutorials and forums and examples and loads of cheerful widgets telling me how easy it is and how I’m having fun. It seems churlish to say that it isn’t, and that I am most definitely not, but I’ve pressed a button that’s done something that I can’t seem to undo and that seems to be the end of it.

I’ve already spent hours (and a small fortune!) cutting out pictures and photographing things I like for a “mood board”. I’ve lost hours looking at other photographers’ websites and preparing my files for uploading. I’ve cogitated endlessly on how I want to represent myself in the market place, who my customers are and how to reach them.

Wtf? I want a fairy godmother to interpret my ideas and present me with the shiny, happy website I see in my head, complete with gorgeous, scrolling slideshows that represent me and my brand. It will have colours that harmonise in pink and mocha and pale sea green with textures like silk and Art Nouveau motifs. It will play the beautiful soft jazz number that Dan has written and produced especially for me that will make scrolling through my photographs a relaxing, dreamy experience (and not annoying at all). It will showcase my lovely, generous clients in all their gorgeousness and have new customers falling over themselves to fill in the contact fom or pick up the phone to book me.

It will be all of these things – as soon as I’ve worked out how to work the bloody program!

There might be a few blog posts missing this week, folks!

Responses

  1. Wondered why you were so quiet today!! I sympathise with you but you’ll get there in the end!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

