Posted by: Admin | April 16, 2011

Jo Blogs – on solitude

I walk early this morning, before the Saturday hordes descend on the country park. The promise of another fine, sunny day is in the air, which smells of grass and fresh water.  My legs feel heavy and sluggish.  I could force them to move faster, but  I have a feeling that today I need to stroll rather than march.  I even take the chance to sit a while and enjoy the solitude. 
There are ducks roosting in the woods at my back and their waking calls chime with the coos of the wood pigeons, the extended Dawn chorus supplying the top notes to nature’s English Spring symphony. The sun is warm on my face as I raise it up and feel my heartbeat slow.
Though gentle on my skin, the sun reflecting on the water turns it’s surface to glass, a lone swan gliding from bank to bank cutting serenely through it, creating diamond ripples. 
The voices of three joggers carry across the inlet on the still morning air, their feet pounding staccato rhythm on the rough path as they pass my bench, smiling and nodding good morning. Everyone I pass smiles at this time in the morning. We know we are connected, albeit fleetingly, through the love of being here. 
This collegiate solitude allows worry to slowly ebb away, giving me a temporary mental sanctuary, a respite that allows my brain chemistry to reset. Nature soothes me, bolsters my resilience, brings me peace. 
I hope that it us available to you today and that you, like me,will feel more hopeful for it’s embrace. 
Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

