Posted by: Admin | June 4, 2011

The Saturday Interview 17 – Lindsay

I meet up with Lindsay at a coffee bar overlooking the beach at Watergate Bay, Cornwall. We’ve known each other for a while – she is a landscape, people and pet photographer who attended the same business course as me a year ago. Two years ago, Lindsay found herself a widow and I wanted to know how one faces 50 newly single, having processed the grief of bereavement.

“I believe in fate,” she tells me, “this is my life and I’ll make it a good one.”

Lindsay was with John for 30 years, from the age of 18, so to find herself single for the first time in her adult life must have been terrifying, I suggest.
“Yes and no,” she replies. “Obviously, I would rather he hadn’t become ill, but it was as if a new doorway opened when he died.  Having no on to think about but myself and the boys has been quite liberating, in a sense.”
Ah yes, “the boys”. Northern Inuit Knut and Bazel the Jack Russell are an integral part of Lindsay’s life, meaning that she is never truly without company.
“I’m very happy alone,” she admits, “I’m a nester – there’s nothing I like more than pottering about at home. And I like having the freedom to jump in the van with the boys and go off shooting whenever I feel like it.”
A teacher by training, Lindsay used to own a learning centre and she still tutors maths and English. Teaching now, though, is a fall back, what she describes as a remnant of her former life. As she heads towards 50, what are her plans?
“To shoot more and teach less. I firmly believe that life is not for working. Obviously, the bills have to be covered, but I do value my own time more than I value money.”
Hence she’s off on a three week tour of Poland this month, in the van with the boys and her sister. Those are some pictures I’m seriously looking forward to seeing!
Does she see herself meeting another man? Lindsay smiles.
“I like men, but I can’t see me ever living with one again. But I do like male company. Just this week I switched my wedding ring to my right hand. I’m ready to date again, though I have to say, the etiquette of dating is a mystery!”
Thanks for talking to me, Lindsay. The way you live your life has always been very inspiring to me and I hope it will inspire project50 readers who are unexpectedly facing their 50s alone.
Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

