Posted by: Admin | June 5, 2011

Talk to me

I love it when you respond to something I post on here. Please know that I read everything you write (the messages come through to my phone)

There have been a couple of comments on recent posts that I thought the rest of you might find interesting. I also wanted to reply in more detail as they both provoked me to deeper thought.

On May 22nd I published a short piece on computer game playing “Online Reveal” in which I mentioned son no. 1. You can read his full response on the page, but I found this bit particularly interesting:

Unfortunately most games do involve killing things “Call of Duty” is a massive hit. “Fat middle-aged men in suits hammer out a well debated truce, leading to a protracted period of peace” never really saw the same sales. 

Reply: When I was at Leicester Uni, my lecturer in Diplomacy (oh yes, I see the irony in me taking lessons in diplomacy) told us that there was an entire diplomatic community on “Second Life” who hashed out real life problems within the game. Now that’s interesting. Imagine if interested laypeople got the chance to play games like that – would it “do a Twitter” and affect real life?

Then on May 27th Crayola was incensed enough at “Tracks of my Years – Chumbawumba” to write that he

Could not believe they (band members, Danbert and Alice) could sell their souls so cheaply after making some really inventive records.

Reply: The thing with popular music, in my view, is that it’s easy to listen to. Sometimes, that’s what the consumer wants and I don’t see anything wrong with that. Pop music surrounds us and we come to associate it with certain times in our lives. For example, for me, “Beautiful” by James Blunt reminds me of the love I have for my grandmother as it was on the radio constantly in the weeks before her death, particularly in the corridors of her nursing home. That Chumbawumba song was a hit when my sister was battling cancer – it was comforting and rousing then and it’s comforting and rousing now.

You can read more on my views about this in the post: “I’m a little bit Country” As I say there, simple beats and uncomplicated melodies are like bubble gum for the mind – aural comfort. Being inventive, political, making “serious” music is all well and good and to be applauded, but I don’t understand this concept of “selling out”. Even a serious artist has to pay the rent. Popular music touches people, and to my mind, that’s a valid, honourable, worthwhile aim for a musician. Why perpetuate elitism in something as joyful as music?

I have this debate with son no.2 a lot. He hates “pop” too. Most chart songs, he says, are written for seven year old girls. And? If it makes a lot of seven year old girls happy, then viva la pop! No one’s stopping you writing “serious” music. Unfortunately, very few musicians make money from their art. Making commercial music on the side is a pragmatic business decision, not a selling of the soul. There’s room for all kinds of music – don’t look down on those who enable us to bounce around happily in our living rooms!

For those of you who disagree with me totally, check out Crayola’s excellent xpqwrtz blog

Responses

  1. I can’t count the times I have told others (young, old and in between) that claim to not like the “new” music that there is no such thing. It’s the same notes, mostly the same melodies and the same rhythms. The interpretation is in their own ear and brain.
    I also can’t count the times I have reminded others (young, old and in between) that if they don’t like it that “they” are not forced to listen. Machines that play music all have an off switch. If it’s live take a bus elsewhere.
    Whatever makes 7 year girls happy makes me happy. They have plenty of opportunities for unhappiness ahead.

  2. Hear hear, OF x


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

