Posted by: Admin | June 21, 2011

Misplaced – my brain

I made a mistake the other evening. How? By challenging son no 1 to a game of Scrabble. I used to be good at Scrabble. I liked playing (because I was good). Dammit, it was me that taught him to play. Here’s how it went:

Him: 26 points

Me: 15.

Him: 68 (he used all 7 letters)

Me:  zero (I had to miss a turn to exchange my entire  rack)

Him: 64 (he used all 7 letters)

Me: 16 (he placed my letters for me because I couldn’t see a single opportunity and he got fed up with waiting)

Him: 35

… you get the gist. On his seventh turn the score was 261 vs 86 and I lost the will to continue. It’s no fun when you’re that far behind, is it? I can’t do Sudoku either. Or crosswords. (Though I can mutter cross words while I’m trying). 

Does it matter? I wish I could say “it’s the taking part that counts” but, dammit, I’m just not feeling that sentiment! Son No. 1 was crowing all evening about taking my title as family scrabble champion.  Actually, there are two things wrong with that sentence: 1 – he wasn’t crowing, more like  smirking quietly, and 2 – I never was the family Scrabble champion. I just remembered that.

Responses

  1. I had a friend once whose cousin was the Scrabble Correspondent for The Jerusalem Post.

    • Really? I can’t think of anything to say to that, WH…

  2. As I approached a ‘certain age’ with trepidation a number of events followed, the not so positive aspects were as follows…..every day was lived in tropical heat mode, concentration level was not what it once was, I had clumsy days, days of slo mo and fog !!!!
    I’m 54 now, still warm at intervals, however, and here’s the thing….never really been given to concentration enough to fathom sodoku….can now…..crossword, breeze easy.
    So Jo, you are temporary blipping, normal service will be resumed I promise. xx

    • “Temporary blipping” – love it! Thank you, Kim! I’m sure I will be borrowing that phrase…

  3. I never could do crossword puzzles or Scrabble and I don’t even know what Sudoku is. I’m terrible at games of all kinds and I don’t have the male stupid gene for competition. I gave up trying to copy morse code many years ago because I was a total failure. I use to wonder what my talents are but now I just don’t care.

    • You have been a beacon of hope to me, OF – your comments always shine a light at the end of the menopausal tunnel!

  4. […] had a long chat with my GP about the ageing brain. We’ve talked about it before on project50 and I know I’m not alone in finding a loss of mental clarity – a decreased ability to […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

