Posted by: Admin | July 29, 2011

Ask not what can be done for you…

Hi there! Just checking in and I find that the blog is getting almost as many views while I’m not writing as when I was. Hmm. I wonder what that tells me? 😉 I’ve been busy collating “the Best Bits” (only I keep changing my mind as to what the “best bits” are!) and photographing inspirational 50 somethings for the collection of portraits. So project50 is very much still alive and kicking, plus I have some blogs lined up for you already over the next few weeks. Don’t forget to sign up for email alerts if you want to hear when something is added here.

I have a “thought for the day” for you today. Of all the lovely people I interviewed over the year, something that Lindsay said has stayed with me: “this is my life and I’ll make it a good one.”  (You can read the full interview here )

It seems to me that we live in a society where there are two types of people: those who ask “what can you (or the state) do for me?” and those who instinctively ask themselves “what can I do to help myself?” (Did I go all Kennedy there?) I think that’s why Lindsay’s soundbite stays with me: she gets up every morning and takes the decision to make the day a good one.  Sit around and wait for someone or something to do it for us and be prepared for misery. Life is all about the choices we make – and only we can make them. So make today a good one – Carpe Diem!

You don’t have to be miserable just because it’s raining!
Responses

  1. What a great attitude to life. One to make a note of for sure. Keep on with project 50, am missing my daily shot !!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

