Posted by: Admin | December 3, 2011

Who has time for the ‘flu?

Nearly three weeks. That’s how long I’ve been battling the ‘flu this year. I have also developed an unwelcome familiarity with the smallest room in the house. I’m not a good patient. Apparently, I’m “like a child”. Well, who has the time to be ill?

If you’re over 65 in the UK, or if you have certain immune system compromising health conditions, you’re entitled to have a flu jab each autumn free on the NHS. The rest of us can pay privately if desired.  There are so many different strains of the virus, I wonder at its efficacy. So, I’d like to know if anyone has taken advantage of the jab this year, and whether it’s made a difference to you.

Responses

  1. Oh poor you. If only I’d known, I would have brought some comforting remedies and a colouring book.

    I had a 48 hour bout of D&V with a fever last week when, being obliged to continue with the school runs, I developed the habit of pulling in to lay-bys to vomit every couple of miles. Luckily Boy the Elder stepped in to look after Boy the Younger.

    I’m asthmatic and therefore entitled to a ‘flu jab, but I wouldn’t touch it with a barge pole. I have only had real ‘flu once and, despite it being one of only two occasions when I genuinely thought I was going to die, I prefer the route of strengthening my immune system as a preventative measure. ‘Flu jabs are too hit and miss for my liking.

    I do hope you’re better now. Any chance of meeting up before Christmas? xx

  2. So far in life two illnesses (that I haven’t blanked out) have convinced me that a., I was going to die and b., it was better that way/the sooner the better – proper flu (one Christmas, alone in the house) and chicken pox at the age of twenty-four.

    In place of my usual single token cold in Autumn this year I have had five three-day colds in four weeks – all making me wonder if sneezing can be fatal. Same bug, defeated, mutates and rolls back over the horizon.

    Like WTHousewife I too wouldn’t trust the flu jab as far as my NHS GP could throw it in a well-balanced hypodermic. It’s like shooting random dogs because you just know that one of them is likely to bite you.

    We arrange for my sour-faced bitch-hearted Aged Aunt to have a flu jab every year and she hasn’t caught it yet, so that proves it’s bloody worthless.

  3. Poor you :(. Had the worset flu ever after having the flu jab, never again, lotso fresh air and gin seem to keep our colds at bay !!!! Hopey ou feel better real soon xxxx


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

