Posted by: Admin | December 29, 2011

Rotten APPLE

I hate to do this, but I’m sharing this consumer complaint because I’m damn sure that Apple won’t give a Granny Smith.

Good afternoon.

I would just like to vent my frustration at the standard of customer care at Apple. I love Apple products, I’ve been a long time customer and would never want to use anything else. So are my sons and my daughter. However, in the past year I have encountered such “f-you” customer service I am well and truly disillusioned.

The people in the stores are generally polite and helpful, but their hands are tied by your systems which seem increasingly to resemble a government department in their stonewall approach. My latest problem is that my 24″ Apple Cinema Display has stopped working 90 days out of warranty. And no, I didn’t purchase extra warranty because I trust you to produce hardware that lasts more than 12 months. (As did my daughter, incidentally, whose iMac died 12.5 months after purchase. Do you actually build in obsolescence?) Your Genius at High Cross, Leicester, has tried replacing the lead and the board to no avail and informs me that a repair is likely to cost £379 plus Vat. He suggested I contact Apple Tech Support to see if there can be any concession on this price. However, such is your system, I have to pay £35 to ask that question, the answer to which will, in all probability, be “no”. £35. To speak to you. Seriously?

Frankly, if I treated my customers with similar contempt, I wouldn’t have a business. Apple clearly considers itself too large to bother. How sad that a once great company, beloved of those of us who like to support the underdog, no longer cares. No doubt this complaint will find its way to the trash post haste, so I will share it on my social networks and add to the growing noise of discontent with Apple rumbling in cyberspace. So now I’m sad as well as broke and cinema-screen less. Happy New Year.

Am I alone in thinking that we should expect better than this? I’m typing on a brand new MacBook Pro laptop. I was told at the store it’s too late to buy protection for it as you have to buy when you purchase the product, although I see from the website that I can buy it so long as I’m within the one year limited warranty. (Just another example of conflicting advice flying around). Maybe I’ll have to start saving for £199 an extra 24 month’s warranty will cost. You might say (Apple certainly would!) that’s cheap for peace of mind. But I’m old fashioned enough to believe that if one pays a substantial price for a product, parting with more than another 15% of the price to ensure it works is a bit much?

Responses

  1. I agree with you, Jo. £35 to ask a question? That’s nuts!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

