Posted by: Admin | January 6, 2012

A 14 day project

There are many photographers of my acquaintance who start the year with a “365 project” – which means they pledge to publish a photograph every day for a year. Some get through to 31st December (notably Tracey Barrow – click here to see her wonderful work) others are driven mad or quietly give up round about March. Because, as we established yesterday, I have the attention span of a gnat, I am starting a 14 day project today, and because I’m basically quite lazy, I’m using words rather than pictures. Though there might be some pictures. We’ll see.

Anyway, as you know, I can be a bit of a gloomy bugger, so my project is all about gratitude. I figure that if I can find something to be grateful for at the start of each day, then maybe I stand a chance of being a bit more cheerful through January. If you’d like to join in, feel free to add your daily gratitude in the comments below. You mustn’t cheat – it can’t be a retrospective thankfulness: you have to state what you’re grateful for in the here and now, this day. Who knows? Maybe you’ll cheer up a bit too!

So here goes:

DAY ONE – TODAY I AM GRATEFUL FOR THE SUNRISE

We walked down to the reservoir this morning and were greeted by a palette of reds and oranges and yellows, all splashed onto a canvas of icy blue. Every twig of the naked trees was outlined against the sky like geometrical brushstrokes. The herons fishing in the lake and the swans gliding silently by were all silhouetted against the fiery water as if caught in a painting. Walking into that scene after a restless night settled my soul (or whatever it is that decides one’s mood). Now for a shower before I leap into the day ahead. Have a good one!

taken on the iPhone in winter 2011
Responses

  1. This morning Ive decided to be thankful for my health. After a very un- healthy 2011, I got up this morning, the frost had made the grass all shiny, the house was silent, and I sat and had that first quiet mug of tea of the day. Perfect x

    • Lovely! It is the little things, isn’t it, that make up a happy life.

  2. BEAUTIFUL photos Jo, as always! And I love the gratitude journal idea…
    good luck sticking with it 😉

    • Thank you! If I can’t manage 14 days of gratitude I deserve a kick up the bum! (Or butt, as you guys might say!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

