Posted by: Admin | January 17, 2012

One foot before the other…

DAY 8 of my 14 day Gratitude Project, and today

I AM THANKFUL FOR MY GOOD HEALTH

It’s easy to take for granted when you’re young, isn’t it? Then, as you get older the niggly little aches and pains start to get more plentiful, the energy levels start to dip and all things formerly pointy become droopy…

My body never ceases to amaze me. I neglect it, abuse it, ignore it, yet still it has the capacity to bounce back to (relatively) full functionality if I give it the slightest bit of TLC. Frozen shoulder not withstanding, my daily 30 minute march has been paying dividends – less creaks in my knees, less stiffness in my hips, less puffing and blowing up “cardiac hill” (on the home stretch). Dammit, today I even ran, on the treadmill, for 10 uninterrupted minutes, covering over a kilometre.

Ok, so that’s not much to all you sporty types, but I think that for a 50 year old female body going from couch to 10 minutes on the treadmill over a few short weeks is pretty awesome. “We’ll just keep it to this nice little trot,” said Becca, my Personal Trainer (oh yes, dear reader – I have become posh enough to have my own P/T. Because I’m worth it.)

Anyway, she said “trot”. TROT. I’ll have you know, Becca Mclachlan, that what YOU call a “trot”, I call a sprint, complete with sweat and everything. And I’m grateful, really, really grateful, that I am well enough to break into a sweat.

Happy Tuesday all!

Responses

  1. That is absolutely fantastic. That’s how I started (albeit in my twenties) but now I’m addicted to running. Give it a few months and you’ll be up to 5-10K. Go girl!

    BTW, was great to see you at the SWPP. As I said… I still read your blog. x

  2. Hi Stewart – if only I’d started in my twenties, but for 6 years of that decade, I was either pregnant or nursing a newborn. I barely had time to tie my trainers in my 30s and my 40s were…well, let’s just say challenging! So maybe this is my time, in more ways than one.

    Strange that you know me so much better than I know you. Maybe you should start blogging to even things up a bit?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

