Posted by: Admin | January 20, 2012

A New Dawn, A New Day…

DAY 9 of my (rather patchy – did I promise consecutive days? Well did I?) Gratitude project and I’m ashamed to say that I’m having to think hard about what I’m thankful for.

Maybe it’s the grey weather, or the overwhelming pile of work that needs to be done, but here I am in a first world country, in my lovely (if 100% mortgaged) home. There are green fields and trees a few steps away and I have the kind of neighbourhood where even the teenagers nod and smile and say good morning. I’m typing this at the dining room table by patio doors which look onto a garden and a pond – my own little patch of Heaven on earth. There’s food in the fridge, tea on tap and central heating. I don’t live my life in fear for my safety, or under coercion to do anything I don’t want to do. I’m healthy, loved, I have things to look forward to. None of my loved ones are in immediate peril (though Beth confessed via Skype last night that, owing to her loss of peripheral vision caused by a series of concussions, she actually finds herself skiing a little too close to the edge for her instructor’s comfort… but as I say, no immediate peril…)

And in writing the sentences above, I realise, dear reader,  that TODAY I AM THANKFUL FOR THE LIFE I HAVE. 

It’s easy to allow petty anxieties and the sheer drudgery of the day to working day to let us lose sight of what we do have, isn’t it? I think I’ve just taught myself a lesson – next time I “can’t think of anything to be thankful for” I’ll write me a list.

I’ll leave it to the incomparable Nina Simone to sum up. I’m off to have a therapeutic sway…

Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

