Posted by: Admin | April 2, 2012

A Question of Reality

A glimmer of light

Last week I posted about the massive high I experienced after my operation, and shared with you my concern that it might be the drugs that caused it. I’ve calmed down a little since then, and, guess what? I’ve discovered that it was indeed a side effect of a massive dose of steroids injected into my shoulder. Bugger.

I’m told it will be around in my system for a good 3-6 months, nestling in my liver etc, but that the good stuff I experienced last week was probably a flash in the pan. What a shame – I really liked that feeling of energy and clarity. In fact, I hadn’t realised how befuddled I have become until the Kenalog whooshed through my brain, clearing away all the cobwebs.

I had a long chat with my GP about the ageing brain. We’ve talked about it before on project50 and I know I’m not alone in finding a loss of mental clarity – a decreased ability to concentrate and variable moods – one of the most irritating and unpleasant developments as I get older. My doctor tells me it might pass. Or it might not. She tells me that no, it isn’t possible to have an implant of kenalog to provide a constant drip drip drip of the good stuff (why not? I pay my taxes!) and she pointed out that if I carried on at energy level I was at last week, I’d probably have collapsed by now.

Just one question: why oh why did I waste that wonderful surge of energy cleaning? For pity’s sake – I could have written a book or finished researching the family tree or something – anything – that lasts longer than a shiny bathroom. Oh well. Back to normality then. At least the sun is shining!

On the inside, looking out...

Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

