Posted by: Admin | May 10, 2012

Words of Wisdom – from a Nurse

Have you seen Bronnie Ware’s article about the lessons she learned whilst nursing the dying? In it, she talks of the privilege of helping patients through the last few weeks of their lives and the growth that they experience before “finding their peace” which, she maintains, each and every one of her patients did.

Five things were most commonly cited as regrets, and she lists them as a gentle reminder to us all to live life to the fullest while we are here:

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.

3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.

5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

Such simple wishes, within our grasp if only we take the time to step back from our perceived problems to think creatively about how we want to live. She concludes:

Life is a choice. It is YOUR life. Choose consciously, choose wisely, choose honestly. Choose happiness.

Top Five Regrets of the Dying” by Bronnie Ware can be bought from Amazon

Responses

  1. Point 1 is very apt for me. Really made me think about my imminent plans and major decision in my life. Am re-thinking what I’ve decided.
    Thank you for this blog, Jo.
    Claire x

  2. Funnily enough I was talking about the business of regrets at the weekend. A friend of mine whom I have always considered to be successful admitted ruefully that his life was full of regrets about his choices, pastimes and relationships.

    I have hardly any regrets, because everything that has happened to me, everyone who has passed through my life, all the ghastliness of my childhood has made me the person I am now. For the first time in my life, I feel as though I know what I’m doing and who I really am.

    Actually, I do have one regret. I wish I had done Needlework O’level instead of Cookery. I could already cook and I would have liked to have learnt a few more sewing skills from a proper teacher, but I was terrified of the needlework teacher so I chose cookery. And actually I’m really good at sewing now.

    Er That’s it.

    • “No regrets, no tears goodbye
      Don’t want you back, we’d only cry…”
      🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

