Posted by: Admin | June 2, 2012

The Saturday Interview 21 – Yvonne

Yvonne, this week’s interviewee, has already been mentioned on the blog as she was responsible for introducing me to her equine friend, Andy and his “crew”. I do manage to talk to her, though, before I am traumatised 😉 as she treats me to a scrumptiously healthy lunch in her village home. Bubbly and full of fun, pint-sized Yvonne is a walking promo for treating age as “just a number”.

Counting down to her 50th birthday in December, Yvonne tells me she is finding an increasing disconnect between her public persona and what she regards as the “real” her.

“Everyone sees me as this smart, stylish woman, which is fine, but I’m really at my happiest in my jodphurs, no make up, the wind in my hair.”

Together with her business partner, Carol, Yvonne runs the successful Northamptonshire boutique, House of Carillon, so it is her business to be smart and fashion forward. Once work is over, however, she can’t wait to change into those jodphurs (purloined from daughter, Ione) and fetch Andy from the stables.

“I ride every day. It makes me so happy I often have a permanent grin on my face!” she tells me.

Recently, she won her first competition rosette – as a veteran rider! Yvonne chooses to laugh in the face of that kind term, and you can see why – there’s nothing in the least bit “veteran” about the way she looks!

I leave Yvonne happily preparing for a holiday in Ibiza with her seventeen year old daughter. I hope Ione has plenty of energy – she’s going to need it if she’s to keep up with her mum!

More photos of Yvonne and Andy can be seen on yesterday’s Celebrate Life! Photo Blog.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

