Posted by: Admin | July 21, 2012

NOT the Saturday Interview…

Today I want to share something small but amazing – I won a medal! Me, Jo-always-bring-up-the-rear-at-school-sports, with a bum so big it’s always running a metre behind and trying to catch up, came first in a race!

Ok, so I should admit to a couple of caveats here. I was in the the 5km walking group and, strictly speaking, Husband of my Heart let me cross the finish line before him, (you can see him hamming it up for the cameras below) but even so…what’s that? You want evidence? Oh ye of little faith!

thanks to Julie Howes for the action photos!

I’d like to be able to tell you that it was a breeze, that the me that was creaky, achy, fat (to be frank) who couldn’t run up the stairs and suffering frequent, rather worrying  chest pains when this blog began two years ago, broke into a run every now and again. I can’t tell you that. The unvarnished truth is that I’d been on my feet for 10 hours the day before photographing a wedding and my knees protested for a full three days afterwards, but it’s a start. I can, actually, run for 20 minutes on a treadmill these days, but I’ve never tried running outside. Maybe next year I will enter the 5k again and attempt to run it. After all, I sure can walk fast now!

I helped raise essential funds for the local air ambulance, which made me feel good. And being part of a team – the Becca Mclachlan Fitness Studio team, to be precise – also made me feel fantastic. So thanks to Becca, who took one overweight and unfit woman and convinced her she could change, and thanks to Husband of my Heart who walks with me for 30 minutes every day, 5 days a week. Now I’m off to polish my medal… 🙂

Yesterday, on my photography blog, I promised you an interview with the lovely Tracey. This isn’t it 😉 Sorry, if that is what you clicked here for – I’ve got a little behind with my interview write-ups, so will have to post Tracey’s piece  at a later date. 

Responses

  1. keep that medal nice and shiney – the 1st of many?

  2. love that you raised funds for the air ambulance (a group near to my heart as a medic myself) — CONGRATS on that medal! Good for you for giving it a try and persevering.

  3. Brilliant Jo. Be proud and get in the braso/silver polish for the array of medals coming your way ! Xox

  4. Thanks, guys. To be frank, this might have been the pinnacle of my physical achievements, but you never know!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

