Posted by: Admin | October 13, 2012

The Saturday Interview 31 – Teresa

I am greeted by barking and a furiously wagging tale as I arrive at Teresa’s home in a pretty Northamptonshire village. Her partner, Ian, makes us tea while we chat about dogs and life and perceptions of age.

All Teresa’s animals – 3 cats and a dog – have been rescued

“I dreaded 40,” she tells me. “I was very sensitive about my age, but turning 50 wasn’t so bad. I feel much more relaxed and a lot my insecurities seem to have faded away.”

Both her sister and mother were, in her words, “stunning” and as a youngster Teresa always felt she was labelled the “clever” one.

“Not so long ago I saw a video of myself in my thirties and realised that, actually, I looked ok.”

Formerly an accountant, she now works as a self-employed project manager in the area of business change and new legislation.

“I think that once you hit 50 you have either achieved what you hoped to achieve or have accepted that you won’t,” she muses, talking about corporate life. “Getting older you become more relaxed, more accepting of yourself and your circumstances.”

We discuss the fact that, as someone who has completely changed course, career-wise, in my fifties, this view does not resonate with me personally, however, it is something that I see often, which only goes to make this project more interesting. Fifty used to be far more homogenous: if you had a career you’d reached your limit and retirement was on the horizon.

Teresa is looking forward to joining Ian in retirement so that they have more time to enjoy life together. In the meantime, she has a philosophy that she’ll try anything once: pole dancing, modelling, boudoir photography and she keeps up with her passions: horse riding, cars (driving at Silverstone and taking her Advanced motorists instruction) and rescue animals.

I’m left with the impression of a lady who has reached a point where she is very comfortable with who she is and with the life she leads, with a determination to seize the day, whatever it may bring.

More of Teresa’s images can be seen on the photography blog

Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

