Posted by: Admin | January 5, 2013

More Reasons to be Cheerful

And now, folks, for some random thoughts, with some random joyful dog photographs:

SUFFOLK 21-08-2012-0027 Am I the only person in the world who feels excited when her change comes out into the tray at the self-service checkout? It feels like I’ve won! I’m not, am I? Admit it…

I am probably the only one who turns to the next person in the queue with a big grin, expecting them to understand, but hey-ho – sometimes I strike gold and get a big grin back!

I’ve decided that, in the words of the lovely Regina Brett (see more of her words of wisdom from a previous blog post here), what other people think of me is none of my business. I always talk to sales assistants. And hotel staff, and checkout operators. It used to drive my children mad, especially when I told them “all their business”. Then they started getting job interviews, professional contacts, tips for good nights out, and they went strangely quiet.SUFFOLK 21-08-2012-0032

You see, life is all about connection. isn’t it? And if you’re going to go to the trouble of connecting with people, whether face to face, by phone or online, what’s the point of expending energy on being miserable? Spreading gloom takes just as much – if not more – effort than saying something cheerful. On 2nd January as the UK went back to work after the long Christmas and New Year break, my Facebook newsfeed was clogged with moaning status updates.

Oh no! Got to go to work… (this from someone who finally found a job after 4 years on welfare) Happy New Year everyone (followed by a polemic on immigration and how this time next year we won’t be “allowed” to celebrate Christmas) oh, I can’t be bothered to list the countless others. No doubt my own status update: First day back at work after a long, refreshing break. Can’t wait to start putting some ideas into action! Have a good one, people. p*ed a lot of people off. I wrote it before I read the others – I wasn’t having a go. Or being a Pollyanna.

SUFFOLK 21-08-2012-0028SUFFOLK 21-08-2012-0029

I realise that some people’s preferred connection is in the isn’t life crap? But we’re all in it together variety. But please don’t go to the trouble of sharing your miserable outlook with the rest of us. I came across this little quote today:

Before you diagnose yourself with depression or low self esteem,
first make sure you are not, in fact, simply surrounded by assholes.

William Gibson

Of course, sometimes things are dire and I’m not suggesting that we all go into denial. It’s just that. day to day I find a smiley face gets slapped less often than one with a permanent frown. Raise a smile and raise your game. There’s always something to be cheerful about. And the people who look for that something even on the bleakest day tend to be the happiest overall, in my experience.

JOY

JOY

SUFFOLK 21-08-2012-0074 SUFFOLK 21-08-2012-0047

Responses

  1. I’m with you all the way on this one Jo and I too talk to people wherever I am. 🙂 Love the pictures too! xx

  2. you KNOW I’m with you on this outlook, Jo…(and the dog pics added just a bit more joy to my evening)

  3. Thank you, ladies – and a Happy (and cheerful!) New Year to you both!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

