Posted by: Admin | February 2, 2013

Life, Health and Fitness after 50

It’s been a peculiar three weeks. Not least because it’s the longest I’ve gone without posting here in almost three years! Truth is, I’ve got so many balls in the air at the moment, that I’ve had to allow a couple to hit the floor temporarily to protect my sanity!

Life after 50 is Exciting!

My clients always take priority, of course, and I’ve been developing some lovely new portrait experiences that will be revealed later this month. I’m busy laying out the book that marks the end of the 50 Facing 50 Portrait Project. This also involves writing up the remaining interviews, so look out for some more inspiring stories appearing here over the coming weeks.

January saw me rolling around in the snow, shooting for my very first children’s story book. Fun, but so, so cold!  I don’t know why I do these things to myself sometimes!

Anyways, for me life post-50 has (happily!) stepped up a gear and my focus over the past few weeks has been to lose a little weight and increase my fitness and flexibility ahead of a busy wedding season (trust me to take on a physically challenging change of career!). Up until now, I seemed to be able to focus only on one thing at a time – fitness or diet and never the twain shall coordinate. Well, huzzah! I think I’ve cracked it. At least, the scales, the tape measure, my knees and my heart can’t all be lying to me!

Life after 50 is Energising!

I recently took part in The World’s Biggest Juice Detox which involved consuming nothing but freshly juiced fruits and vegetables for 7 days. In fact, I’ve undertaken two 7 day periods and can honestly say I feel so much better for it. It’s not easy, and during the 7 day periods I found myself being very unproductive, which was frustrating given the amount I have to do, but I think it will be worth it in the long run since I have more energy now and a clearer head (plus I’m almost 14lbs lighter) and I actually find myself looking forward to my workouts far more. My knees are bending a little lower, I’m sleeping better (and longer) and, best of all, I feel so much calmer, which is probably why I ended up abandoning you for three weeks – whereas I would normally work myself into a frenzy to get everything done, I realised that something had to give – just for a little while. So, if you need a boost, I recommend you have a look at Jason (The Juicemaster) Vale’s website and look into it.

Life after 50 is Limitless!

At the end of the first 7 days, I took part in a photo shoot for another photographer. I wanted to experience how my clients feel when they book a shoot with me, and it was very enlightening. Carey Sheffield is a wonderful photographer who is becoming a trusted friend – check out her website. This is me, aged 51, calm and confident and ready to take on the world, as pictured by Carey:

Fearless at 50

Life after 50 is exciting, energising, limitless
Image © Carey Sheffield

Open Heart, Open Mind

I know that many of my regular readers are bogged down by worry about money, health and loved ones. I’ve had my fair share of those issues over the life of this blog, believe me. Honestly, there is always light at the end of the tunnel. Sometimes we might be forced by circumstance to adapt our dreams, but there is always a way to make things better for ourselves, to open our minds and our hearts to new ways of seeing and doing that will leave us happier and more fulfilled.

Right, that’s the philosophising over with for today. It’s been a long one, hasn’t it? Back to normal next week. For now I’m going to leave you with one final thought. (Ok, I lied about the end of the philosophising…) Love and stuff, Jo x

© Lifehack

© Lifehack

Responses

  1. Thanks Jo – I love reading your thought provoking blogs! x


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

