Posted by: Admin | March 2, 2013

Biting off more than I can chew – but still chomping on!

I’d like to know what it is about me that always wants to know everything about everything and can’t do a job half-arsed. I mean, seriously? I couldn’t just learn to take photographs for this blog, oh no – I had to become a professional photographer (not complaining about that, by the way, since my now not-quite-so-new career is a big part of my happiness) Likewise, I couldn’t just chuck my 50 Facing 50 project images into a book, I had to produce something beautiful. And how was I going to do that? By learning about book design and typography and semiotics and paper types… it goes on and on!

Portrait Photographer Northamptonshire

It’s tricky, getting the balance right between images and text, weighing up the desire for the best quality with cost, choosing which interviews to feature, which images to showcase. Colour or black and white? Full bleed on the page or bordered? Builder’s tea or Chamomile… oh that’s another story – sorry!

I don’t want to let anyone down. Everyone looks beautiful, stunning – but the chosen images of two gorgeous ladies show the backs of their heads: how will they feel about that? Not everyone’s interview has been featured, not everyone can be included. Only so many words can fit on the page – will everyone be happy with the edits? Will anybody want to buy it? Will ANYONE read it?

Anyway, I have, finally, got to the stage where the book has been set out and is almost…ALMOST ready to go to press for the first proof. I say almost because I can’t quite seem to finish it. Knowing when to let go is a trick I haven’t quite mastered. It would be possible, of course, to go on tweaking to infinity and beyond. But the time has come to wrap up the project and move on. So, I WILL write that introduction, take a deep breath and let it go to print.

One thing I’ve learned over the past few years is that waiting (or striving) for something to be perfect is not the best way to get things done. I’ve realised that sometimes you have to be happy with good enough or you’ll always be what my dear old dad used to call a “talker” not a “do-er”. And I can’t be doing with that! Wish me luck!

Wedding and Portrait Photographer Northampton Uk

A project that has, quite literally, taken over!

Responses

  1. Perseverance 🙂

    • quite! Thanks for the follow. Jeffrey 😉

  2. can’t wait to see the finished article – perfectionism will shine through…

    • Oh I do hope so! Good to see you here, Julie 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Big Epic

Enjoying Life One Adventure at a Time

my world from the other side

travelling - changing - questioning - being me

Hollington Wood

Ancient Woodland. Sustainable Produce. Educational Amenity.

Three Wishes Books

A blog about books and publishing

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

The Dream Shed: by Luke Thomas French

Stories for Children and Adults who Never Grew Up!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

thephotographyboutique

Just another WordPress.com site

redefineyourmind

Know Thyself To BE True

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Journey2Wonderful

Living Life with heART!

Bob Rhodes Photography

the journey continues

kma postcards

the kmatourism blog

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

